17 May 2015 - Songwriters Saluted

Article taken from Country Music Bulletin - http://www.countrymusicbulletin.com.au


Songwriters saluted

On January 20, a capacity audience at the Longyard Hotel witnessed the Tamworth Songwriters' Association (TSA) presention of awards for entries in the National Songwriting Contest for unreleased material and the Songwriter Salute Awards for released songs from the past year.

Also presented were the http://www.countrymusicbulletin.com.au/pix/Dean_Megan_TSA2015_tn.jpgAPRA/AMCOS/TSA new Songwriter Award and the CRS Encouragement Award.

In the Salute Awards, Colin Buchanan was as announced as 2015 Songmaker (equivalent to the Roll of Renown for writers).

Dean Perrett and Megan Cooper (pictured) were notable winners from the night...

Megan took out Country Song of the Year and Contemporary Ballad of the Year with Texas and shared the award for Contemporary Song of the Year with Dana Hassall with 27 Degrees.

Dean was awarded Traditional Bush Ballad of the Year for Cooper's Creek, Alt Blues & Bluegrass Song of the Year for Fear God and Gospel Song of the Year for The Lighthouse.

Childrens Song of the Year went to The Wombat Wobble by Stan Lenz and Comedy/Novelty Song of the Year was won by John Battle & Tony Roberts with The Walk Up Artist.

The Association's "industry service award" – the Tex Morton Award – was presented to Joan Douglas.

In the National Songwriting Contest...
Sharon Benjamin won Open Traditional with Just One of Our Mistakes and Becci Nethery took out Open Contemporary with I Wrote This One For You.
Justin Standley was presented with the New Songwriter Award for Hard Easy and Brian Garde won the Novice award with Black Saturday.
The Alt-Blues & Bluegrass section went to Adam James & Graham "Buzz" Bidstrup with Bringing Me To Tears, Abbey Gardner won the Junior section with Fall For You and Allan Thompson was successful in the Lyrics Only category with Let's Not Forget.
Liam Kennedy-Clark was presented with n encouragement award and American writer Beau Renfro won the International section with I Want To Dance.

The audience on the night were entertained by a range of artists including Brothers3, Jeff Brown, Aly Cook, Kristy Cox, Bec Hance, Adam Harvey, Kathryn Jones, Steve Passfield & Handpicked, Taylor Pfeiffer, Jared Porter and Amber Joy Poulton.

TSA President Duncan Hill said the songwriting contests received a very high number of entries and feedback from the judges indicated that the standard was also very high.

"This year, the TSA arranged for a number of artists and special guests to assist with the presentation of Awards. Adam Harvey, Aly Cook, Jared Porter, Kristy Cox and Joan Douglas were asked to present and added colour and comment to the Awards.

"Joan Douglas presented the Songmaker Award to Colin then found herself receiving the Tex Morton Award for a history of providing vital services to the industry.

"During the 2015 festival, the TSA and guest artists appeared at showcases at the Post office Hotel, the Locomotive Hotel, Southgate and the Albert Hotel plus Hogs Breath Cafe," Dunacn said.

"It is really great to see these organisations supporting  the TSA in providing opportunities for established artists and emerging artists and songwriters during the length of the festival. The TSA Showcases provide excellent exposure for new songwriters and the mix of music is always interesting and entertaining.

"Through these showcases and, of course, the Parade and Awards night, the TSA has been increasing its involvement in the festival over the years and looks to continue with the help of these organisations."

TSA is now planning for the Hats Off festival in July.

Photo by June Underwood
Weblink – www.tsaonline.com.au.

Leave a comment